The Down Range Forum

Member Section => Down Range Cafe => Topic started by: alfsauve on September 28, 2021, 10:39:00 AM

Title: Not at ND?
Post by: alfsauve on September 28, 2021, 10:39:00 AM
Finished the GA State USPSA match.  Place third revolver and 1st C class.  (Yeah, yeah.  3 revolvers only on in C.)

A friend of mine, Carmen Lout, had an interesting thing happen.   Shooting .40S&W in Limited, a round didn't chamber.  As she racked the slide to clear the round out, the nose of the bullet caught on the slide and the primer was jammed into the ejector setting it off.

The bullet caught her in the mouth.  Just a swollen lip.  The RO signed a target saying she was excuse from work because she had been shot. ;)

Never heard of this but boy keeping you mouth shut and wearing eye protection is obviously very important. I have no doubt she has the strength and speed to do this as she's a body builder. 

But here's the part I wonder about.  It was ruled NOT an ND, because the round wasn't in the chamber.  The gun, in essence, didn't fire a round.  She was not DQd  My thinking is that whether in or out of the gun it was a "discharge" of a round while under the control of the shooter.  It created a hazardous situation.   I don't wish a DQ on her, just wondering how often this happens and the thinking behind the ruling.

Video:

https://player.vimeo.com/video/617082244 (https://player.vimeo.com/video/617082244)

Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: TAB on September 28, 2021, 05:17:25 PM
I have seen that happen a few times over the years.  The round gets in thier sideways and the extractor sets it off.  Easy to tell as the case splits and there is a line imprint in the primer.

Only ever seen it from a double stack.   Might want to inspect the feed lips.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: tombogan03884 on September 29, 2021, 08:38:15 AM
I would not DQ her for a mechanical failure.
But I would sure as heck DQ a gun that fired out of battery.
She can keep shooting, but not with a gun that already had an unanticipated discharge.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: alfsauve on September 29, 2021, 08:49:30 AM
I would not DQ her for a mechanical failure.
But I would sure as heck DQ a gun that fired out of battery.
She can keep shooting, but not with a gun that already had an unanticipated discharge.

Good idea which is what happened.   She finished the match with a backup gun.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: MikeBjerum on September 29, 2021, 05:33:09 PM
This is one that would not be a quick DQ or Clear.  If she handled the gun correctly it becomes an equipment malfunction, which removes the gun but not the shooter (as you said happened here).  This is one of the reasons for the 180 rules at all times.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: Rastus on October 08, 2021, 08:32:08 AM
Wow.  I have never heard of this.  I would send the gun back for service and take it out of the competition.

What was she shooting?
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: alfsauve on October 08, 2021, 10:16:13 AM
Carmen shoots a variety of guns.  Mainly she does 3-gun, but I think she was shooting a 2011 at this match. (Limited class B)  Here's a picture from her web site.  The joke about the ECI has to do with being a 3 gun shooter, you stick an ECI in everything.

Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: Roman Jay Almaza on November 23, 2021, 03:07:56 AM
Amazing guns, how is it legal? (https://elmontecustomcabinets.com/custom-hardwood-countertops-el-monte/)
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: tombogan03884 on November 23, 2021, 09:29:16 AM
Amazing guns, how is it legal? (https://elmontecustomcabinets.com/custom-hardwood-countertops-el-monte/)

It's AMERICA.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: alfsauve on November 23, 2021, 12:11:42 PM
Amazing guns, how is it legal? (https://elmontecustomcabinets.com/custom-hardwood-countertops-el-monte/)

In USPSA Limited pretty much anything excep optics and comp is allowed.  Magazines can.t drag on the ground.  ;)

Add a red dot and you're in Carry Optic.  Add the Comp and you're in Open.

I think people love it because of the mag capacity, around 23.  It's by the length of the mag, not the actual count. 
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: alfsauve on December 11, 2021, 09:47:01 AM
So, interestingly, the NROI has made this the question of the month. 

Since we all know the details of what happened and what was done, it was an easy choice.  DQ the gun.  Most of the USPSA magazine readers are voting to DQ the shooter.  Of course it's not all that plain just from the video what happened.  And I bet most people have never conceived of a round going off totally out of battery like that. 
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: TAB on December 11, 2021, 11:00:44 AM
Did they ever find thr brass?  I would love to see pics of it.

I am shocked to read that most shooters want her dq.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: MikeBjerum on December 11, 2021, 04:53:51 PM
On a AD/ND the DQs would come with breaking 180, over the berm, or a bullet striking the ground within 3' of the shooter.  She didn't sweep her hand.  These take the shooter out of the penalty.  That leaves gun and ammunition.  These two do not remove a shooter from the competition.
Title: Re: Not at ND?
Post by: tombogan03884 on December 12, 2021, 08:27:44 AM
So, interestingly, the NROI has made this the question of the month. 

Since we all know the details of what happened and what was done, it was an easy choice.  DQ the gun.  Most of the USPSA magazine readers are voting to DQ the shooter.  Of course it's not all that plain just from the video what happened.  And I bet most people have never conceived of a round going off totally out of battery like that.


"The majority sir, is an ass."
George Mason