Author Topic: Washington DC & Registered Ammo?  (Read 7745 times)

tombogan03884

Re: Washington DC & Registered Ammo?
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2009, 12:54:57 PM »
It's on the books as allowed.  Ref. General Laws of MA @ mass.gov:

Chapter 140: Section 131F. Nonresidents or aliens; temporary license to carry firearms or ammunition.  We are a MAY issue state so the AG can have the final say...

Further review of the legaleese of the general laws reveals that I may have mis-spoke.  It appears (I'm not a lawyer) that it IS legal for a non-resident to drive through the state with a locked, unloaded firearm.  Anyone who may be traveling should really take a look at our laws regarding firearms.

Actually there is a FEDERAL law that says it's ok to have an unloaded locked fire arm but Ma. Ill. and possibly some other states (Ca. ) ignore it

TSB

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2009, 01:34:44 PM »
Actually there is a FEDERAL law that says it's ok to have an unloaded locked fire arm but Ma. Ill. and possibly some other states (Ca. ) ignore it

This is what is currently on the books so the case you mention may have forced the changes...It does not mention handguns that I can tell but I'm still trying to read the entire document.

Chapter 140: Section 129C. Application of Sec. 129B; ownership or possession of firearms or ammunition; transfers; report to executive director; exemptions; exhibiting license to carry, etc. on demand

Exemptions for non-residents;

(f) Possession of rifles and shotguns and ammunition therefore by nonresident hunters with valid nonresident hunting licenses during hunting season;

(g) Possession of rifles and shotguns and ammunition therefore by nonresidents while on a firing or shooting range;

(h) Possession of rifles and shotguns and ammunition therefore by nonresidents traveling in or through the commonwealth, providing that any rifles or shotguns are unloaded and enclosed in a case;