Author Topic: para ordinance p14 feed problems  (Read 7021 times)

weatherbyman

para ordinance p14 feed problems
« on: March 18, 2009, 05:53:13 PM »
Ok so I finally got my hi cap 45 from my earlier post and I went to the range to shoot it today. About every 3 rounds it would fail to feed, and after 4 clips it wouldnt feed at all. The round was getting jammed between the feed ramp and the slide. What I didnt know is if theres a break in period for the feed ramp or should I send it back to the manufacturer.

weatherbyman

Re: para ordinance p14 feed problems
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 05:53:57 PM »
This is my first 1911 so I am a newbie to them.

ellis4538

• Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2009, 06:02:40 PM »
OHHHHHH, you said the C word.  Was the same MAG or different mags?  What type of ammo?

Richard
Used to be "The only thing to FEAR was FEAR ITSELF", nowadays "The only thing to FEAR is GETTING CAUGHT!"

weatherbyman

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2009, 06:11:14 PM »
it happened with both of my mags. i was shooting 180 grain winchesters, and some of my buddies hand loads same result           

1911 Junkie

• Top Forum Member
  • aka Mr 4000
  • Liked:
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2009, 06:23:12 PM »
Most feeding problems I've encountered are due to either ammo or mags.  I've never had luck with para's
factory mag springs, they seem weak to me. I replace all my mag springs with wolf springs.

The other thing is to make sure the gun is lubed enough. A dry gun can cause similar malfunctions due to
the slide moving to slowly to pick up the next round in the mag.
"I'd love to spit some Beechnut in that dudes eye and shoot him with my old .45"  Hank Jr.

Sponsor

« Reply #5 on: Today at 05:21:53 AM »

weatherbyman

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2009, 06:30:23 PM »
ill try tomorrow with more lube thanks

PegLeg45

• NRA Life, SAF, Constitutionalist
  • Top Forum Member
  • DRTV Ranger
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1078